Music On Repeat

I have this tendency to murder songs that I love by listening to them so much they essentially become attached to my brain. Music is my saving grace and a balm for life so I consider it a healthy thing. Here are my most recent victims.

“Time Trap” by Built to Spill

I’ve become a fan of Built to Spill over the recent years. They make me feel like I was a teen in the early 90s, which is something I’ve always wanted to be but obviously impossible. The slow build in the beginning of the song is so juicy. Ya girl loves layering.

“House of the Rising Sun” by alt-J

I know they are jerky for hipsters but I love alt-J. I first listened to this song on a ferry ride to Koh Phangan a couple of weeks ago. 0:53 – 1:34, looking out at the glistening water, sun starting to set behind a green mountain, and hearing the crescendo and decrescendo of those strings – something struck a chord (no pun intended). I’ll never forget it.

“Pretty Things” by Big Thief

A poignant love song that seems full of emptiness, if you get what I mean. Maybe not. This is the perfect starting song for what turned out to be a wonderful second album from this band. Check them out if you haven’t yet. The solo, acoustic version of “Masterpiece” makes me swoon every time.

“Happy Djong” by Twelve Point Buck

I was lurking on American surfer Dane Reynold’s Instagram and found a video with a clip from the beginning of a song that I could not get out of my head. I Shazamed it so hard. I believe those were the two most millennial sentences I have ever typed. Turns out Twelve Point Buck is an Australian band. If you’re into lo-fi surfer rock then you will definitely like them. I didn’t know I was into that genre but apparently I am so maybe you should just try them anyway. They’re still pretty unknown so I couldn’t find a YouTube video of just the song, but I found this surfing video – appropriate – that features it in the first half. That’ll do.

“Fly Tonight (feat. Frankmusik)” by RuPaul

The most unusual of my obsessions lately as it is a drag club banger, but I unabashedly declare my love for this song. It is the one that plays at the end of each episode of RuPaul’s Drag Race in Seasons 6 & 7 (and maybe beyond but I don’t know yet DON’T SPOIL IT) after RuPaul says “Let the music play!” I cannot wait for when this song plays at a party and I cannot help but overdramatically lip sync, or should I say…for my life?

Ru_Lipsync

“Shook Ones Pt. II” by Mobb Deep

Recent sad events have revived my love of this song. RIP Prodigy 😦

Leave a Reply

